A time for everything

By turnx3

Red-bellied woodpecker

Friday
We had breakfast outside again today, though the temperature was quite a bit cooler than it has been, but still pleasant. After breakfast, I fetched my camera and binoculars, and spent a while watching the birds. Our most common woodpecker visitor is the red-bellied woodpecker, shown in my blip. The name seems to be ill suited, since the most conspicuous red, especially in the male is on its head! There is a slight blush colour on its belly, however since you usually see them with their belly hidden against the trunk of a tree, or against a feeder, you don’t really see it!. We were a bit late getting going this morning, and unfortunately by the time I had done my Italian, and looked at the photos I had taken on my iPad, the clouds had rolled in and rain was threatening - as if we hadnt had enough already! So in the end, I didn’t get any exercise, and did some sorting in our bedroom instead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.