pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Rocking Robin

I had been thinking about the correlation of a drop in photography standards to the presence of my children, but I don’t think that holds water.

This picture for example I would completely have missed, but for m’boy (Hawkeye) seeing this Baby Robin and excitedly bringing it to my attention. I then fumbled with the camera, zooming in too close and not being able to find it in the viewfinder. The Robin, seemingly sensing my panic at missing the shot, then helpfully hopped onto a branch nearer to me and nonchalantly struck a couple of poses before flitting off for his next shoot somewhere.

We had a lovely walk, complete with a picnic by the Kent, the children paddled (The Youngest naturally fell over, but got straight back up and got on with it) in the cool water and in addition to the Baby Robin we saw a Sandpiper, Egret and Heron. As an added bonus, when we neared the end of our river walk we then saw a Kingfisher moving at what seemed like an incredible speed downriver. 

Aside from the odd little flair up here and there, the children have played beautifully together. I didn’t think it was possible, but I think that being forced into such a close proximity with each other over an extended period of time has brought them closer together. 

I get lost in watching them play together, sometimes preferring to instigate and observe rather than engaging and popping the bubble of the little worlds they create between them. 

They never leave me out though and later on in the day, The Youngest brought me a “doing book” with instructions on how to make a shadow theatre, so with a bit of card, masking tape, greaseproof paper and a light we put something together and I was subsequently treated to my own show performed by a menagerie of animals. 

Stay healthy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.