Poppies

As with previous Friday’s I slept later than I would normally. I had decided to go for a run to see how my knee was.  I eventually headed out after assisting BB with some school work. It was hot, very hot, but a lovely clear and bright morning for a run.  It was another slow, but steady 5km, but I had to really push myself to keep going in the heat, seeking out any little bit of shelter I could find from overhanging trees. 

Once I had recovered and done a few chores, I headed out to pick up lunch which I had ordered earlier in the week, and I also had to stop off for a few provisions.  Thankfully the queue was not long and I was able to hang back in the shade of a delivery lorry.  As today is the first day of recovery moving out of lockdown – phase 1 – I really got a sense of more people going about and lots of visiting going on. 

Both TT and BB were still hard (?) at work when I returned.

I was thinking of a wee walk to stretch my legs, but decided to sit in the garden in the sunshine and read my book .  A lovely way to spend the afternoon, though I had to keep retreating into the house to cool down – it must have been the hottest day of the year..

I was on tea, then I popped out to stretch my legs before a Zoom call with some friends.  TT was on his own virtual whisky session, which has become quite a thing of lockdown.  They became more argumentative as the evening wore on.

These lovely poppies are the first thing you see when you open our front door.  They got very battered by last weekend’s gale force wind, but they are putting up a good fight back. The extra is how I cooled down late in the afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.