An Octopus in the Sky

Lockdown Day 74

It was a very grey day today, and cooler than it has been but it was the perfect morning for a bike ride, and because of the weather it wasn't very busy. Although my ride there was difficult as I had a head wind all the way,  but I cycled 13.5 miles in total and met Amanda and Louise on the seafront in Hove for a drink on the beach.  Louise also cycled and Amanda walked to meet us as she lives in the centre of Brighton.  We spent a nice hour just chatting and watching a family flying their kites before heading home.

My ride back was much easier and I decided to stick to the cycle lane along the coast road rather than going along the undercliff walk as there's a couple of  'The Postman's' pieces of art that I wanted to see.  It meant my ride home was a bit more hilly, but it was nice for a change, and then once I got to Rottingdean I dropped back down onto the undercliff.

This afternoon I prepared a curry for tonight, and then walked down to the beach at 5pm to meet Alison, and we sat and shared a bottle of wine.  While I was there I got a phone call from mum's doctor - as she wasn't getting anywhere with them, I asked her to tell them that I'd like to speak to them, and luckily they were happy to.  I voiced my concerns and she now has an appointment for tomorrow afternoon, so that's good.

In today's Coronavirus briefing they've said that as of 15th June it's mandatory to wear face coverings if using public transport, which is good, but I do also feel it should be made mandatory in shops too.  That said, I'm seeing more and more people wearing masks now.

We received an email cancelling the cottage that we had booked for Norfolk in July.  I was still hoping that there'd be a chance we'd be able to stay over at that point, however the owner said they've lost so much business due to Covid-19 that they've had to make the decision to put both their rental properties on the market for sale.  Also, they live with her immune compromised mother so even if it would be possible to stay, she's unable to do the  change overs/cleaning.  It's disappointing for us, but I feel for them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.