Thriving

On our last trip down to West Yorkshire, just before lockdown began, Tom (my son) gave me a cutting from his string-of-hearts plant. Then about 20cm long with half a dozen leaves, it didn't look very promising just after it had travelled back to Northumberland! About 8 weeks ago I planted it in to compost and put it in a hanging planter inside the living room window, and since then it's thrived - about 60cm long and branching out all over. Today I raised the planter to stop it trailing on the window sill...

At the beginning of lockdown, MrM and I resolved to make more soup, large batches so as to have a few quick lunches in the freezer for chilly days like today. None left, so I decided to try a new recipe to add to our repertoire - chestnut and sage. OK, but not a hit! Far too sweet for our tastes, and MrM went as far as suggesting that we could use it as a dessert in lieu of custard. The clue is in the name after all - sweet chestnuts!

Good to speak with Tom this evening, if only briefly.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.