Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

UFO

I stopped off on Friday's walk into Bonnybridge to spend some time in the Bonnybridge and District Heritage Park, which I first visited and Blipped in February.

As heritage parks go, this is a little one, bordered by a main road on one side, and the local library, adjacent community centre and a car park on the others.

At the centre of the park there's a memorial pillar (the area used to be a graveyard for a former church, both now long gone and the bones reinterred) and along the length of the wall, above which lies the road, there are a series of interpretation boards telling of the local history, from prehistoric and Roman times, to the various industries for which the town has been known over the years (see extra).

The last board in the series, my Blip for today, is a tongue-in-cheek reference to Bonnybridge being known as the UFO Capital of the World, due to numerous (alleged!) sightings of alien visitors or alien craft through the years. I've never seen one myself, but I have seen some strange creatures around the town, so one never knows!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.