Young woodie

It was a miserable, cold, intermittently stormy day - more like autumn than spring - have we had summer?  I spent a good deal of it sitting in the garden room with the heater on, watching the birds.  This photos was taken from my armchair.  Our garden is full of adolescent birds at the moment.  But this one is a first.

Mum and dad have been feeding from our bird feeders irregularly over the last year or so, and more regularly for the last few weeks.  Earlier today I had spotted dad, who was feeding voraciously from the fat cake, and was not even put off his stride by a jay that came and perched on the trellis briefly.  Shortly after, I was really chuffed to see the  youngster, who sat on the trellis where the bird feeders are hanging, but didn't manage to feed himself.  He then hopped onto the ground briefly, before flying up onto the arch.  When dad returned they then both flew off into the hawthorn tree.

In other news, the fish have already gone!!!!!!!!!!!!!  I didn't get around to posting my blip for Friday until Saturday morning.  After posting, I thought I should go and feed the fish - but they were gone.  We have a camera pointing at the pool, but unfortunately, although it has taken wonderful photos of W and I looking for the fish in the pool, it did not take any photos during the night - presumably its night vision is broken.  We have, over the last few years, bought a number of trail cameras, but they all seem to have developed faults - mainly with their night vision.  So now we've lashed out some of the money we have saved over the last couple of months on a rather more expensive one.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.