Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Yellow chairs

OH I wanted to have a seat in that yellow chair!    Walked to check out  this not quite finished park on Portage Bay this morning.   I can almost not remember just what was here  (a little marina I think) but this is going to be very nice. with little beach, access for hand carried boats and lawn for recreation.  
It’s called Portage Bay Park or Fritz Hedges Waterway Park :  Fritz was a long term Seattle Parks and Recreation professional who dedicated his life to the idea that parks and recreation are vital components of urban life for all residents.     Talked to a worker who said he thought it would open in July (delays due to Covid) and when I remarked on the huge pile of pots, he said they’ve planted 20,000 new plants!   A new tree by the water has already been eaten by beaver…I think they have them protected now.   
Extra shows it from the U bridge that you can almost see in the photo. ( the high bridge is I 5)  It’s about 3 miles round trip from our condo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.