Mariner

It may be a bit grey out but I’m going to get out on this boat anyway. And look at my jaunty cap - a prize for that famous quiz win, which we’ll never tire of going on about. 
What else is going on? For me, much scrutinising of diesel heaters. Outside, #BLM everywhere - a couple of decals have even appeared at the breakwater entrance. Rather tasteful and arty ones. As you’d imagine in EH5. 
The demos have rather put aside social distancing for the moment  though as the heatwave and “crowded" beaches of two weeks ago were predicted as presaging a resurgence which so far hasn’t happened (in fact zero deaths and 18 new cases in the whole of Scotland yesterday), perhaps nowt will come of it. And despite BAME people being twice as likely to succumb to covid as white people. 
The day ended with a statue of a once local worthy being tossed into the Tiber or whatever river Bristol is on. Were they right? We wouldn’t tolerate statues of Hitler after all, is an apt and common riposte. Actually, I don’t know if there ever were any statues of him. Napoleon could cast himself as vaguely Roman emperorish. But the wee Austrian? I suppose he looked OK on stamps. Which I trust no one actually collected. Well, apart from my Mum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.