A disappointment

Steve the orthotics guy did come by today and he'd brought me this brace.  It's neoprene, and that wasn't what I was expecting.  But he fitted it on my leg and I tried walking with it, and it felt very supportive.  After he left, I thought I'd walk down to the mail boxes - when I suddenly realized that I'd started to itch.  Not just my leg, but my whole body.  It was dreadful.  So I Googled "neoprene sensitivity," and it turns out that some of the chemicals used in the making of neoprene can cause itching and rashes.  I took off the brace immediately and called Steve to let him know.  He will look for a hypoallergenic brace, if there is such a thing.  I was so disappointed, as with the brace I felt I could safely walk on my own.  I don't know what the next step will be.

Fortunately Larry the PT is coming tomorrow for our last visit and I'll be able to walk to the mailboxes with him.  I think/hope there is a package there with a number of essential things I ordered from Rite Aid.  Then in the afternoon Doug will take me for my surgery follow-up.  It will be interesting to hear what the doctor has to say.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.