Great Crested Grebe

What a dismally wet day ..... the afternoon being much worse than the morning.

I had some shopping to do for a friend who is vulnerable and still under lockdown. I wasn't totally successful but L came to the rescue and got the sourdough bread for me.

By the time I got to the loch the rain had eased and I was able to walk round without getting drenched. I only saw the grebes on the water when they were pointed out to me. The pair are nest building right in the middle of the loch ..... a first for the Heritage Park. 

The extra photo shows a bit of the bright green weedy nest. Because it's not anchored to anything the movement of the water will move the nest as well. I would like it to come a bit closer to the bank but not so close that the birds are scared of by dogs and excitable children.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.