Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

The Elegant Trogan

I needed to get away from Green Valley for a few hours so I took a ride to Madera Canyon.

I've gotten two decent shots of this guy recently after searching for one for ten years. Pretty nice in expanded view.  He's very loud.  His sound is referred to as a 'bark.'  I write about this place so much please take four minutes to watch this VIDEO made there by the Audubon Society.  It will introduce you to the Elegant Trogan and Madera Canyon.  There are shots of the Santa Rita Lodge birding area with  some commentary by Steve Holt, the lodge owner (blue shirt, light ball cap). After you watch it I think you'll understand why I love it so much.

I got quick snaps of two different juveniles that I had never seen.  They were really out of my camera range so they aren't fabulous shots.  All I saw were flashes of orange which made me think it was the same bird.  I put the juvenile Black-headed grosbeak and the juvenile Hepatic Tanager in the extras.

Interesting but useless (maybe) facts:
According to a 2015 study, having 10 more trees on your block can make you feel as healthy as someone who's seven years younger.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.