Five Today

Today is the birthday of our eldest grandchild. No longer the four year old - happy birthday to the five year old.

We were so lucky to be able to visit, sit in the garden, watch our gift being opened and enjoy a slice of the amazing rainbow cake the girls' mum had made. All at the appropriate distance. Here is the top of the cake, purple and pink as requested, with candles and princesses decorating it. As the five year old got on with enjoying her day her one year old sister toddled about trying everything out.

Like every grandparent I have missed seeing, being with and helping to look after my grandchildren during the emergency pandemic measures. I have missed getting to know the two babies better, help them to feel comfortable and secure in my care and at our house. Even try out the occasional sleepover. And the five year old has been my companion and pal for the past four years since I started Wednesday childminding and then Tuesday sleepovers. I have missed that time so much. She is ready for more formal learning and will start school in August. Things will change and the times we've spent together have come to an end earlier than we anticipated. I'm hoping I'll be able to start helping out again when circumstances allow.

I think she has had a lovely day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.