Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

SZR at dusk

(11/6/20)

Catching up isn't as bad as I thought! I'm glad I prepared all the pictures in advance though, otherwise, it would take ages.

I woke early today and was at the desk in my room by 8 am. I had to stop earlyish last night as my back began to hurt. Only editing/tidying up/renaming today, so it didn't take too long. Think I uploaded the pictures to my OneDrive and sent out the link before 12:30. It gives the person who's looking at it more time.

3 pm arrived, and the big thing today is a virtual Zoom reunion of our Youth Group. It's been nearly 25 years since I've chatted with some of the people! Going through my albums, I couldn't believe how much this group dominated my life in my early twenties! We had nearly sixteen people join in this afternoon. The local times ranged from 9 pm in Sydney to 7 am in Toronto.

We were all asked to tell the group what we've been up to in the last thirty years - in 90 seconds. Hmmm, I tried hard to be brief and quick, but that was a pretty impossible ask. We chatted for nearly two hours. You find in these Zoom meetings that you spend most of your time quiet, listening, and that is FINE. It's weird though talking to a "collective" and not an individual.

After all that, it was definitely time to venture out, but not before we had a quick Zoom meeting with Rachel. We took the recycling and headed to Burj Al Arab Beach. The UAE has decided to open up the Malls 100%, so we are returning to normalcy. The beach was packed. So packed, there was no space to park to do the recycling. The decision was quickly made to abandon that plan and just head back, except we got caught in a traffic jam! My first since March. Everyone seemed to be on Beach Road at the same time.

To mark the 26th Anniversary of my mum's passing we were going to get food from Ravi Restaurant, but we settled on a rotisserie chicken instead, from our local Lebanese. We haven't had it for months, so it was a real treat. :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.