Surprise, surprise!

How I ever lived in the south of England I don't know! I can remember as a child in the summer holidays lying in the paddling pool in the back garden to keep cool! The west of Scotland doesn't do that kind of temperatures!

But it was 35 degrees in the sun again today - too hot to sit out for long tho' I did manage a short time with Jane Austen! It's been quite hot to be working out in too, but I've spent the day on my plants and garden, potting, planting, tidying up, watering, just fiddling really, but it's fun. We missed our daily walk today as neither of us could really be bothered! 

So another plant Blip. This is Begonia grandis subsp. evansiana, or whatever they're calling it these days. A native of East Asia, mainly China and Japan, it's quite hardy here and been sitting out in the trough for the last four winters, tho' it's quite late coming through and won't be flowering for a while. I think this is the normal pink-flowered one, tho' I did grow the white form at one time too, but don't know if it came here with me! It's growing among the white form of Herb Robert.

Quote of the Day:

Sridhar Movva - “Plants and Books are silent Friends to Mankind."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.