A hot day

We were promised a dull cooler day, which is why the allotment was at the top of our to-do list today. It was anything but. We didn't realise this until we were there and getting stuck into jobs. I had a long list of jobs, but in the end I spent most of the 3 hours we were there, cutting the edges around my beds, where the weeds were knee high and full of seed heads. Jon cut the grass with the mower and then strimmer. Henry and Mollie come with our hats, and Henry stayed to help take up all the weeds.

I planted 2 more courgette plants and 12 french beans in either my sweetcorn (singular). Growth of my sweetcorn has been little short of non existent. Only one has properly established itself, and I haven't a clue why. All sown at the same time. Ah well, the space will be used by the beans and courgettes. I now have beans of one kind or another in every one of my beds! Broad, runner and French beans in with my shallots. Runner and french beans in with potatoes, tomatoes, courgettes and a mystery cabbage ( self seeded from last year). Then more runners that haven't come up yet, in a narrow bed with mange tout and kale. It is very random, like me, but I feel things are going the right way and this year we will have more variety than previously, so it's working. It was too hot though, and when we got back, we both had a headache, and spent the afternoon in the garden enjoying a late lunch. I finished my book - the third in the Shardlake series by C J Sansom Sovereign. Excellent, I'm starting the next one at bedtime.

Cooked a nice roast. Mollie and Daniel both home from wherever they have been this afternoon ( Cromer and Happisburgh respectively, where both suffered from sea mist - wish it had come here!)

I've had a lovely bath, now going to watch the drama about the Salaisbury poisonings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.