A good Kiwi shed

Thank you to those who took part in (Inter)national Holy Well Day yesterday - as if I would make it up Spotsoftime, just a little expansive with the truth!  Some great well though including two from New Zealand (the same one!), one interesting ancient stone from Finland and a smattering from the UK, including a most potent one dedicated to St Fiacra. I gather the weather was pretty grim in the UK and Ireland so do still feel free to have a wander and explore - it's not too late, anything up to the Solstice could be counted (21 June). 

A very damp day here today but I managed a long walk and it was most pleasant. It was almost a soft Irish day, and the birdlife was rampant - tui with their strange melodic song; kereru - Kiwi pigeons which are colossal, colourful and rather dim; piwakawaka - little bouncy fantails; and colourful pukeko who love a bit of damp. I passed through rainforest, an estuary in rich earthy colours, the silver strand deserted apart from a woman on her horse having a good gallop and this rather fine bit of dereliction. As I stopped to blip this (I had inadvertently ended up on the edge of a farm) about a million cows hollered up to the fence hoping I had hay with me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.