Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Toadflax

The day promised a mixture of sunshine and showers. We had rain when we went shopping this morning, but by the time we got to my parents’ house it was sunny again. But only for 15 minutes - another shower cut our garden visit short. After lunch hubby sat playing games on his tablet and I pottered about the house for a while. At 3.30 it was very sunny and we decided to chance the weather and ailments so glad we did. We only went to Pickering’s Pasture, less than 10 minutes drive and it was lovely. Lots of meadow browns and tortoiseshell dancing in the wildflowers, hundreds of peacock caterpillars covering the nettles and many native ladybirds, which was nice to see. In amongst the grasses, I spied this yellow plant and didn’t know what it was. So I looked it up when I got home, and it’s common toadflax. I’ve never seen it before and thought that it might be related to the snapdragon/antirrhinum as it looks a bit similar. Anyway, I liked it a lot and my butterfly shots were not all that good today. Too many things in the way! The only one I liked was a quite far away tortoiseshell in the daisies (extras) even though it is not so sharp. 

Thanks to Miranda for hosting the wildflower challenge. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.