Romance

I fell asleep during the conference. The opening began at 10:30 pm. About 11:30 I was struggling to wake up. Fortunately the sessions are recorded so I gave up on the one at 2 am and went to sleep and watched it today. I'm glad, because the recording allowed me to rewind interesting things people said. 

Essentially, the cost of renewable energy is so low now that you needn't worry about needing to incentivize its use. One of the benefits is that it is so easy for a large central power plant to have problems from natural disasters or terrorism, so having many, distributed renewable energy "plants" increases resilience. A few years ago I asked if the pace of progress toward renewable energy was enough to save the planet from climate change and was told no. Electricity accounts for a quarter of emissions. 

I'm thinking about public transportation. Safe public transportation is a wonderful way to give educational, employment, and health opportunities to the poor, women (if you have enough money for a car, the guy gets it), elderly, youth, and the disabled. It is a better use of land than individual vehicles. Who will want to ride a bus or subway before we have a vaccine? How will people get to work/school/the doctor? Obviously I solved the dilemma by buying a car - and an electric one - but not everyone can do that and it wouldn't be good for the world if we could. I suspect/I hope that many cities will "repurpose" their streets so that restaurants can serve people outside and it will be safer for people to ride bicycles for transportation. Now might be a good time to invest in electric bike companies. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.