light composite

I planned that one Wide Wednesday I'd finish this lighting practice and post. I lit the stuffed animals separately and needed to combine the pictures. I apparently didn't have the camera tight enough in the tripod so I had to shift the pictures a wee bit to get them to line up, but it works. It even fits with the theme of garden and animals as it is in my garden and they are mostly my animals.

I managed to stay up longer for the conference yesterday. I started falling asleep in my chair about 11:25 pm rather than waking up at 11:25. There is uniform call for increasing resilience in the electricity sector in wake of the pandemic. I would have appreciated if they had explained what the problem was or given examples of problems. China never lost power. The US never lost power. I haven't heard of anyone losing power because of the pandemic. So the issue is?

I have links to articles that will tell me. The only issue I've figured out yet is that utilities have invested in new capacity and then consumption fell so they won't earn the revenue they expected - which will make it harder to pay the debt for the investments. 

China's pollution has rebounded to pre-Covid levels. 

On another front, the movement to "defund the police" aka reallocate some of the spending to other social services so people won't need to call the police for everything is making progress in Portland and San Francisco. In In Portland:
"Almost $5 million from the defunded programs will go toward the Portland Street Response, a non-police pilot agency that responds to calls related to people experiencing homelessness or having mental health crises. The council also reallocated $1 million in savings for a leadership development program for Black youth; set aside an additional $1 million for services for people experiencing homelessness; and earmarked $453,000 for the Office of Community & Civic Life to distribute through social equity grants."


Each example helps to answer the question of what "defunding the police" would look like. Fingers crossed. 


 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.