The second half of life..

By twigs

Minnie

I didn't sleep very well last night - not sure why.  I slept in later than usual to make up ground but was woken by knocking at my front door.  It was my neighbour who had come around to ask me what we should do about the fence.......?  In my just-woken-up-but-still-very-tired foggy state I looked over to where she was pointing to see several sections of the fence between our 2 properties completely flattened.  That woke me up!  The fence had fallen onto my property which was odd, because the wind had definitely threatened my kitchen window last night on the other side of the house, so appeared to have come in totally the opposite direction.  It did make me wonder whether we'd suffered a small whirlwind or similar...?  Anyway, an inspection of the fence revealed it has squished a new tree I planted 18 months or so ago and an old rose that's lived on the fence for as long as I've been here.  We've each called our respective insurance companies and I guess we just have to wait now until an assessor comes round.  I do hope they get a wriggle on - it looks like a war zone.

Minnie seemed to be pleading for me to quit looking at fences and feed her!  Fair enough too - it was a late breakfast for her.

Had some lovely news today - an Honours award in a national landscape salon with a much better version of this pic.  I'm chuffed :)

In COVID news - no new cases today which is good.  I know we'll get more cases but I, and I suspect many, many others, am feeling very let down with the recent new cases that have emerged.  I do think we dodged a bullet there - it could so very easily have been spread far and wide without us even knowing so good on the two women concerned for maintaining high standards of awareness of the risks.  It also shows what a wobbly ol' tightrope we're walking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.