pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Highlo Wren

The journey had been a good one.

Not having done it in a long while, I was tired yet wired and sleep did not come easily, but I clearly drifted off at some point because I awoke to the sound of excited feet in the rooms adjacent to and above me as my youngest offspring charged in to their grandparents bedroom for the morning wake up call.

The long awaited hugs from the night before had felt good, but as the day wore on we all (the adults) confessed to feeling a little spaced and weird at suddenly having so many people around us.

One of the many beautiful things about my parents place is the space you can quickly get around you and we soon settled into the regular pattern of play, hot tub whirlpools, more play, food, games and generally talking nonsense.

The garden is absolutely teeming with life and in particular a wide variety of birds. The morning had already yielded finches green and gold, together with an abundance of tits.

M’boy held aspirations of a woodpecker sighting and was calmly assured by Nanny that one would be down for their supper just after 7pm. Sure enough, down he swooped to peck away at the hanging log, as m’boy (naked for the bath he was about to take) pressed up against the glass excitedly watching on as the red-headed chap pecked away.

Naturally, my camera was no where near me to capture this lovely little moment (probably for the best), but I did have it to hand to capture this lovely little family of wrens squawking away as they had their lunch!

Not a bad first day in the confines of the support bubble.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.