pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Bliprentice

One of the many things I absolutely love about m’boy is his interest in EVERYTHING.

He will happily sit and listen to his older sister as she walks him through her makeup regimen and the reasons for each application of God-knows-what to a face that doesn’t need anything.

His grandad and I have been extending his poker training over the last couple of evenings and he’s listened patiently as we try to explain bluffing, counter-bluffing, when to bet big and when to try and draw your fellow players out. We’re not professionals by any stretch of the imagination, but he is interested in knowing more and then applying the knowledge he’s gained accordingly. No mean feat for a boy at the tender age of seven.

It’s why it breaks my heart that he is unable to return to school yet, because he loves it and loves regaling us with the new things he’s learned, which is why I’ve tried to keep his beautiful brain busy with little projects.

Today we’ve been playing with cameras as my mum had dug out a Canon which had been left in a cupboard somewhere unloved and unused. It has a cracking zoom on it, so I’m hoping she will keep it to hand to try and catch some of the many lovely birds that swoop down into her garden.

On our trip South, I’d also brought my little Canon G16 with me, so draping the strap over his neck, I’d suggested that he wandered around Nanny’s house and garden snapping little things that caught his eye. He took some cracking shots along with some rather unflattering candids of yours truly, which I might post up somewhere, but I may be cultivating one of the next generation of blippers...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.