ALLOTMENT FINDS

Weather was much nicer today - dry and warm with a bit of a breeze. I had a wander down to the village to do some shopping.  No queue outside Herons and only a short one to get into Tesco.  Got everything I wanted.

On the way home through the allotments I went looking for anything that would count as derelict.   I found a fence that had fallen over, a rusty circular piece of metal stuffed into a hesdgerow,, some old corrugated metal and some rusty metal in a hoop shape.  Thanks to Marlieske for hosting the derelict challenge.

Apart from shopping and blip hunting I have mostly been watching TV.  Caught up on all the episodes so far of Staged  starring David Tennant and Michael Sheen.  I'm enjoying it even though its a bit unusual. Also watched a couple more episodes of Poirot.

I have added an Extra of a photo I spotted on the " Gateshead, Now and Then "  Facebook page .  Obviously the car and the couple in it are the main focus but what caught my eye was the corner shop in the background.  I recognised it as the shop which was owned by my grandparents when I was little.  I have many happy memories of " playing shop " in that shop. We used to go there every weekend.  Grandma and Granddad expected all their 3 children to help out in the shop. ( even though they all had families of their own to look after )  My two Aunties mostly worked behind the counter.  My Dad took his turn there too but his main job was ferrying my Granddad back and forward to different suppliers.( I don't suppose they had Cash and Carrys back then ). Sometimes I went along.  My favourite place to go was the Walls Ice Cream factory. 

Anyway I commented on the Facebook page that it was my grandparents shop and the person who had posted the photo got back to me to say that her mother in law who is in the photo was still alive and she would ask her if she remembered the folk who had the shop. Later she got back to me to say her mother in law did remember my grandparents - and the fact that my Granddad was deaf. And she remembered my Aunties -- and their names. I don't have any photos of the shop so I was so pleased to find this one on Facebook.

Musical link -MAN IN THE CORNER SHOP by The Jam

Steps today - 6,748

CORONA CLASSIC - Puccin's Oh Mio Babbino Caro - sung by Maria Callas

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.