MY DAD - and me

Didn't go out today but I still managed to reach my step count.  Did nothing much until around 1.45pm when it was time to settle down in front of the TV to watch the footie.  First game for Newcastle United ( behind closed doors of course ) since way back in March.  Luckily it was on PICK which is a channel I can watch through my Freeview box.  Newcastle were at home to Sheffield United.  The first half produced no goals and I was beginning to wonder whether that was the way it would end.  But Sheffield United had a man sent off after 50 mins - and some goals followed.  Fortunately they were scored by Newcastle players.  Final score Newcastle 3 Sheffield 0.  It was strange to watch a match on TV that in the normal course of events I would have been watching in person. Strange to see the stands empty or covered with banners.  Strange to hear crowd noise which was just background noise dubbed over by Sky TV.  But 3 points is a great result.  Next game is on Wednesday.  But its on BT Sport which I can't get so I will listen on the radio.

When the footie was over I did some ironing.  So much ironing.  Its been piling up for ages and I still have some left to do.  I also did a couple of loads of washing.

As its Fathers Day today I spent some time looking through old photos for any with me and my Dad together. Lots of photos but hardly any with the two of us together.  But I did find two. I think you can tell that I wasn't keen on getting my photo taken.  My Dads name was Ernest  - known as Ernie - Warneford.  Born on 21st July 1923.  Died on 27th May 1995. He was a proper Geordie born in Gateshead.  A hard worker. Spent most of his working life as a " horizontal borer " in a factory which made mining machinery. We never had much money but we got by.  He was a great handyman and made lots of items of furniture for our home  And he never took any of his cars to a garage to be fixed as he did all the repairs  himself. ( Most of the cars he owned over the years had been bought for him by my Granddad who couldn't drive as he was deaf  Of course as Granddad has paid for the cars my Dad was expected to take him wherever he wanted to go.  But at least it meant we had a car when so many families didn't )  I have so many happy memories to look back on.  My Mam died before Becky and Neil were born and I'm really thankful that they knew their Grandad at least.  I  have added an Extra - a photo I took of my Dad at The Gateshead Garden Festival in 1990.

Musical link  FATHER AND DAUGHTER - by Paul Simon

Steps today - 5,176

CORONA CLASSIC - Percy Whitlock 'Scherzetto' (Organ Sonata in C Minor)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.