Therfield

Therfield in Hertfordshire has been a favourite area for local landscape photographers for years, and I have seen many photographs of its rolling landscape in competitions at various clubs, but I have never visited it myself even though I live not so far away.  Today seemed the right opportunity.

I don't claim to have achieved anything wonderful with my image.  This was only an exploratory visit and I suspect I've not yet found the best location around the area, so a few return visits are justified, taking my time (and a tripod).

21st June is the traditional day for celebrating the start of summer by watching the sun rise over the heelstone at Stonehenge (even though, this year, the solstice fell on 20th June).  This year, of course, people were barred from attending owing to the Covid-90 pandemic. It was possible to watch on live view, but I didn't bother to get up for it. Probably a good job because it was cloudy there (and at home).  However, I did dig out my photographs from 51 years ago, the last time (the only time) I have visited Stonehenge.  I found all 200+ negatives taken during our overnight visit - a huge number to take in such a short period of time in film days (and a significant expense for the improverished student I was then). 

Looking at the pictures (see a couple of examples in the extras) I can safely say my picture taking has improved - as has the technology.  Taking pictures in the dark on Ilford HP4 at 400 ASA was a bit of a challenge;  I was fortunate that there was a TV film crew there that night so I could photograph using their lighting. There must have been several hundred people there that night.  These days (when there is no lockdown) several thousand people attend.

Let's hope we have a good summer.

*The extras are straight scans from the negatives without editing - no cleaning up of marks/stains , no cropping, etc - I didn't have time today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.