102nd Corona diary entry / The New Normal

This is the famous Boozy Watermelon Ice Pop! They came out pretty good and very delicious. I've had 2 today. That's enough for me. I can't taste the vodka at all. I just taste the fruit.

I did a long walk around the Clot in the morning. A woman walked towards me and asked how to find out. When I returned I didn't see her on the path so I assume she found her way out. One is only allowed on path. There are maps and there are sign posts. But unfortunately she was coming from the flooded area which is a dead end. It's a long way back if you go that way not prepared to walk all the way back too. It means you will walk uphill twice.

We had horrid night last night. We woke up at 24:00 sharp when someone of the neighborhood came back and they spent over 10 minutes outside our bedroom window talking and laughing out so loud. After that I couldn't fall asleep again. Then Buddha started to ask out because he was throwing up. Most of the vomit was then cleaned from the floor inside the house.

I didn't sleep that well, so I started to smell pee. I thought it came from outside as we sleep with the door open when possible. To my surprise in the morning I found out there was pee on the carpet outside our bedroom. Luckily that carpet I can was in the machine, so no big deal. But that was Nelson. He's the only one who don't know how to wake us up if he needs to. It's so hot that they drink a lot. Nelson went for a pee when Buddha went out to hurl, but still...

So I wonder what will happen tonight. It's the big night when people in normal situation would go to the beach to have bonfires and bbqs, but with the virus, beaches will be closed as a precaution. So my guess is they will do all that in their yards and make noise all night long. Also the fireworks will start as soon as the night falls. Buddha will be in such state. San Juan is always bigger in fireworks here than New Years.

Also it's 27°C inside our house. It's not suffocating yet, so we sleep all right with the door open. Except when noise.

Oh, I had an incident today that I would want your opinion.
I visited a doctor because my blood pressure has been quite high lately and I've been getting headaches due to that. It was the same doctor that checked my possible borreliosis. He remembered me. He's very slow. He's painfully slow. The third recipe was a success that I was able to use. He's nice and chatty. He's from Nicaracua, so I don't know if this is cultural matter.

He has both times stated that I have a beautiful name. (I disagree.) But I said thank you. Mind you, I was wearing a mask and I had forgotten my sunglasses on. He commented on my pink dress. I didn't reply. Or said yes or something very short. He doesn't speak good English, so he has to ask a nurse to translate. That's fine.

When I have my recipe I go back to the lobby and he follows me and continues about my dress. Something about the movie Grease and the pink ladies. Sounds quite innocent when I write it down, but I felt awkward. I don't think a doctor is supposed to comment on your name or your outfit. It's not professional. I felt he crossed the line. What do you think?

I do chat with the reception woman, Toni. She's fantastic. But even with her we talk about health and such. Not about dresses...

Btw as I talked with Toni I said I don't like people coming from all over Europe and North Africa here. She said the case load will rise, but we need the economy. She's right. Neigter is a good solution. Starve to death without income or possibly get the virus. There aren't many good options available.

Also they took my temperature when I got inside the door of the clinic which was locked. They gave me the hand disinfectant to my hand. I didn't touch the bottle. And they opened the door for me when I left. I didn't touch anything in there. I liked that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.