Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Clare in her wildflower meadow

Today was a red letter day! I went to the tip. 

When the lockdown started, I already had a collection of wine and beer bottles. The collection has increased over the last few weeks. I  boxed and bagged them up and set off to Hexham. It was very well organised and I am delighted.

I also filled the tank with diesel and went through the car wash. Phew!

This afternoon, I walked from Wall Village up onto Fallowfield Fell. It was very windy but mild and the views were good. On my way to Hadrian's Wall Trail, I met Clare. I knew her by sight from walks and from singing events.

She thought I was Maureen Hart! We soon sorted that out.

Last time I walked on Fallowfield I noticed this wildflower meadow on a piece of private land. It turns out that a few years ago, Clare and her husband bought 17 acres here. It is varied land and they are keen to develop it as a nature reserve.

Clare was happy to chat about how they are developing things and I was very happy to listen and discuss meadow management. 

You can read more about their project here.

It was lovely to have a good new story to share.

In that spirit, I will not comment on Covid 19 today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.