THE OLD AND THE NEW

Made a slow start and just pottered around until it was time to head out to the village to get my blip shot and some shopping.

I originally intended taking a photo of Dockendale Hall.  Its a building which dates from 16th century and was originally owned by The Earl of Darlington. Oliver Cromwell stayed in Whickham on his way to Edinburgh in 1648 and he is said to have occupied the Hall during his stay.  The Hall has now been converted into flats and there is a wall around it so I couldn't get a very good shot.  So I had to think again.  I walked on a few yards and decided to blip the old Roman Catholic Church of St Mary's and the new one.  The old church was built in 1948 in what used to be the stable block of Dockendale Hall. ( I remember two of my aunts being married in this church. )  Due to the growing population in the village a bigger church was required and in 1973 the new church was opened. The old church now serves as the Church Hall. My blip is an entry for the Wide Wednesday challenge - theme today is Mono.  Thanks to Freyjad for hosting

Musical link MEET ME IN CHURCH by Solomon Burke

Went to Tesco next - bought fruit and veg. Weather today was really warm and close and I was quite hot and bothered when I arrived home.  Washed all the shopping and by this time it was 6pm - time to settle down in front of my computer to watch the footie.  Newcastle were playing at home against Aston Villa  The game was being shown on BT Sport.  Its a channel I don't subscribe to however Newcastle United sent all season ticket holders a free pass to watch the match. 

Aston Villa played well at the start but Newcastle got the first goal.  However they let Villa equalise. So it ended as a draw.  Better than losing.

Just had enough time to cook my tea before it was time for the Sewing Bee final on TV.  I have really enjoyed this series even though I don't do any sewing myself.  I think the best contestant won.  ( no spoilers )

Steps today - 8,648

CORONA CLASSIC  .......   I've gone a bit " off piste " tonight and chosen SOME ENCHANTED EVENING sung by Terry Ford.  Terry lived next door to me during my childhood.  He was a year younger than me. He used to be a bellringer but I didn't know he had any singing talent.  He's pretty good I think.  In later years he was the Otley Town Crier - watch him in action HERE. I havent seen him for many years as he still lives in Yorkshire.


Silly Saturday Challenge

Following the sad death of admirer ( the Silly Saturday host ) fellow blipper 60plus has decided to “guest host” Silly Saturday in memory of admirer on Saturday 27th June – tagged SilS195.  More info HERE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.