KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

Butterfly

I spent much of the day figuring out how to use iMovie to edit the 21 video clips I took of my friend Darcy's garden when I visited on Wednesday. Normally I would take my Plant ID class over to tour her garden, but since I couldn't I decided to make a video. I think it's pretty successful for a first time. Although the volume is a little variable and there's lots of footage with Darcy's feet in evidence! But somehow we managed to mostly keep our distance during the tour of her garden. 

She's a garden designer (the video has her info) and uses a lot of perennials in her work. Her garden is divine and I'm always so inspired by it, and by her. This garden occupies her standard city 50x100' lot in Northeast Portland. Some of you have asked for the link, which I am happy to share. It's an unlisted video on YouTube that only I can share. Darcy's Garden. Hopefully the link works abroad. You'll be able to hear my voice and get perhaps a small sense of this lovely, lush place that we call home.

Meanwhile, I went out to the very hot garden an hour or so ago - it was close to 90 F today (32 C) and some of the plants are looking a little burned. So the irrigation is on now, cooling them down. But, what I found was a Swallowtail Butterfly! I have never seen a butterfly in my garden - moths, yes. I think that finally I have massed enough butterfly attracting plants that it finally came! It was so sweet, flitting around, not caring that I was standing there. In fact, I was wearing a pink dress and I think the butterfly thought that I was a giant flower since it kept coming to check me out. Made my day! 

Thanks so much for all of your lovely comments and stars on yesterday's very pink bee blip :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.