KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

Still at my Desk....

Gosh, the prep work for this class never seems to end! Well, much of the work today had to do with two students who hadn't "engaged" in the course according to the rules, and despite emails (that they apparently didn't get) I finally had to declare them "No Shows" by the deadline the school set...which wasn't even a full week. Sigh. New protocols, new times. But two of the three were devastated and wanted back in. So on a Sunday, when apparently there isn't anyone working in the enrollment office, despite a Saturday night deadline, I'm trying to get these two students back in. I had to email them all of the assignments and reference materials. So I'm STILL prepping for the upcoming week. But really I shouldn't complain - it is taking a lot of time, but making the video of Darcy's Garden really hijacked the week, not the prep. And it's all worth it!

But I did sneak out to the garden a few minutes ago and found my favorite dahlia just blooming. I noticed that it had a tiny creature on it, and when I looked at it on my computer I identified it through the app iNaturalist as a baby Scudder's Bush Katydid. I'm sure there's a more accurate name than "baby" but I don't know what it is...nymph maybe?

Hope you all had a stunning weekend! I'm on to the 2nd week of remote classes tomorrow!

Thanks so much for your lovely comments and stars on yesterday's blip of the dragon fly! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.