Waiting....

...for the heat to stop! It's currently 113F/45C and it might get one degree hotter. But tonight the cool air from the coast pushes in and starts to move this heat out. It's going to drop almost 50 degrees overnight! By 6 am it will be 65 degrees. I'm getting up early and will go dance in the garden :-)

I did venture out early this morning to check everything and water. Granted it's hotter today than yesterday, but there was actually very little damage in the garden. A few hostas and ferns were fried, but other plants, like the sunflowers, have grown an astonishing amount. The earth is very deeply watered and the plants that like the heat are reveling in the combination. Another 12 hours.

I did a lonely Zoom video recording of my class's ten plants this morning, since my class was cancelled. Next week is July 5th, a holiday, so I had to keep them moving along. It's not quite the same, but I think it will work out ok.

I brought my camera out early this morning when I was watering and caught this Nigella sativa in a bit of sunlight. Love these crazy flowers. 

The extra is Alllium sphaerocephalon or Drumstick Allium - it's been green for a long while and is just turning purple with the heat. One of my new faves! 

Hope your week is off to a great start, wherever you are! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.