Another day down south!

Well, not that far south, but childhood ‘home’ is south of home home, if you see what I mean!

I woke at 7, got up at 8 and after breakfast went to Manda’s so that she could show me around her garden. She has done lots of planting and has all sorts of different flowers thriving, as well as vegetables. She plans big things for the bottom of the garden and has designers planning and executing the project for her. I and sure it will look very professional when it is complete.

Then I went to see my sister in law Jenny, carefully keeping the correct distance, I spent a nice hour chatting to Jenny and Gemma. We had hoped to meet up for Henry’s birthday with the Gibbs side of the family this weekend, but it has been postponed until things are safer. So it was nice to have a catch up and we may be able to meet soon, perhaps in just a smaller group for an outdoors picnic.

Home to mums at about 2 and had a late lunch. Then didn’t really do much else. Surfed the net, still searching for a car. After dinner Manda came round and we talked a bit about mums side of the family, as she had received a call today from a cousin, who she doesn’t think she has had contact with since the 1960s. It got us talking again about the family.

I had a brief spell in the loft, but went up there too late to actually be able to get stuck into any tidying. It was hot anyway, and I only brought jeans with me - (it was cool Tuesday in Gresham when I left home). I found some of my old Chester college course work, and got sidetracked reading comments from the tutors on my work. Everything seemed so positive in the bits I read, but in the end we all know the 18 year old me wasn’t up to teaching. Too shy, and no confidence. It’s a shame. How different my life would have been if I had been a confident person. I’d have a degree for a start, and probably would have made it as a teacher.

I did a bit of knitting, and now heading to bed to read my book. Photo - I caught dad at lunchtime in the garden sweeping up the fallen apples. Now that is a proper smile dad!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.