Cwymtydu Cove

It was dull and musty, and really quite cool when we woke up. So we didn't rush to do anything. After a late breakfast we decided to do the walk advertised in the camp shop, which goes from the camp site down to a local cove. 3 miles. So Jon put a few bits in his rucksack and we set off. There was a lot of up as well as down, and so hard going for unfit people like me. I mostly kept up, although do have a lot of photos from my day, where Jon is about this distance (top photo) in front of me!

It took just over an hour to get there. On the way I was taken with all the wild flowers in the verge. A nice much bigger vetch than I am used to seeing, plus so many other things. We were passed by lots of cars, but it was a steep narrow climb down - not a nice drive. There was a car park and pretty exclusive cottages. One time, I would guess, owned by welsh fishermen, but now exclusive, pretty highly painted cottages, which look like they are probably second homes.

We sat on the beach and read our books, with a cup of tea and some snacks. Eventually I had to face the long climb back up the hill home. We took a different return route, via footpaths rather than tiny roads. At one point the path took us up a set of rotten, quite dangerous steps, almost vertical. Once up that, and the battle past the bramble was won, it was a steady climb through fields of sheep that brought us straight in to the back of our campsite. We had been out over 4 hours.

After a cup of tea, I had my first go at the crocheting. Just holding the wool is challenging. I think I mastered a chain, but then working out how to put it back through a stitch to do another row, I seemed to lose or skip some! I'm going to have another go after the blip. All I want is to make squares!! (Well, that's all I want to start with)

Cooked dinner, which was a tasty Tesco finest meal. Opened our second bottle of wine in a week. Unheard of for us. Probably won't buy any more, particularly as I have just checked my finances for the rest of the month. We will be eating out of the freezer when we get back!

Now some more crochet. As tv is either football or tennis, it's staying off, but we may play more card games later!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.