Room 4

In 2017, towards the end of her long life, my mum moved into a nursing home in the far south western reaches of Edinburgh. As these places go it was exceptionally nice and the care was second to none. The staff group was terrific, led by the kind of manager who inspires confidence. And I mean the entire staff group, not only the care and nursing staff. The gardeners, hairdresser, chefs and laundry ladies all helped to make a tricky situation positive.

On one of my first visits to see mum I left behind this cardigan. A couple of days later, on my next visit, I found it laundered, pressed, folded, marked Room 4 (mum's room) and put away neatly in her wardrobe. Never before or since was it so well treated. Not a colour mum would have chosen - "bit bilious don't you think Tweedy?" I can hear her say - but the kind laundry ladies weren't to know that it wasn't hers.

The point of this long ramble is that the cardigan has fallen on hard times. It's part of the lockdown clear out. But I can't bring myself to part with the label. I know I'm going to cut it out for a keepsake before the garment goes to the recycle bag. Someone will need to dispose of it in due course but it's not going to be me at the moment. Daft really but there we are.

The weather is ghastly. Unless you like heavy grey skies and pouring rain of course. That's what we've got today. It's a bit frustrating as from today we no longer have to physically distance from children under the age of 11, but only outside. This means that we can give the grandchildren a big hug but we're going to have to wait a few more days till the rain stops, the sun returns and we can meet in the garden. It will be worth the wait.

Thank you so much for all the kind comments, hearts and stars yesterday. What a lovely bunch of people.

Wishing you all a good weekend whatever you're doing. Stay well, keep safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.