Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

RHS Wisley

After I walked Xena this morning I met a friend at RHS Wisley. When I booked tickets to visit I booked for two visits, one to take Gavin (we went on Monday) and one to take my friend, as members can take one guest for free per visit.

We started with a coffee and then wandered around, and this time we went to the trial fields where they have planted some beautiful wild flower beds. They are not always easy to grow - I think they seeded the area and then as the flowers came up did another seeding so they were double planted to get the dense mass of flowers that have resulted. I also loved the small field of purple poppies, as seen in my extras. It was very breezy so not easy to get photos of the flowers which were moving about.

Today they finally finished working on the water feature in the garden. It was a much bigger job than I envisioned, and of course the surrounding flowers had to be removed when they laid pipes for the pump and electricity. They were able to replant some of them but there are some glaring gaps so Gavin and I went off to the garden centre just before they closed and got some plants to fill in the gaps.

Tonight we are getting take away dinner from our local Italian restaurant. From tomorrow restaurants, cinemas and hairdressers will be opening up again. Our local restaurant said they think the majority of their business will continue to be take away while social distancing measures are in place. I have a hairdresser appointment tomorrow and I cannot wait! My hairdresser texted me with the safety requirements - I have to wear a mask, no coffee/tea served, no magazines available to read but other than that it will be such a treat to finally get my hair done!

England has announced the list of countries with which we have 'travel corridors' - meaning no 14 day quarantining on either side - and thankfully Switzerland is there so we will be going in August (and France so we are able to drive through it). Life almost feels normal again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.