Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Agapanthus buds

Oh what jubilations, after 5 months since my last appointment I finally got to go the the hairdresser today - I usually go every 6 weeks! It was all extremely well organised - when I arrived, I had to wait outside, put on my mask and wash my hands with sanitiser. Then someone came to the door and took my temperature, and took me inside through a one way system. All the staff were wearing face screens, gloves and plastic aprons. I was given a disposable gown and then my hairdresser got to work. Between each client the work station, chair, counter top etc was thoroughly washed down with antibacterial spray. The staff are working in separate teams on different days of the week to limit the exposure bubble, and I felt very safe and relaxed. I did take off my mask for part of the treatment, you cannot apply hair colour to someone wearing a mask and I felt fine doing so. What a relief to get my hair done again, I came home feeling like a new person! The new normal is working well. I have added an extra of me at the hairdresser.

I came home via Waitrose, the new way of grocery shopping also feels so normal now. The queues and food shortages are a thing of the past and it is back to being a pleasant experience - well, as pleasant as a boring domestic chore can be.

After we bought plants at the garden centre last night, Gavin stayed outdoors and planted some of them but eventually it got to be supper time. So this morning he got up early and by 7am he was already planting the rest of the plants and finished the task. We bought my favourite agapanthus to add to some we already had in the beds, more geraniums to replace the ones dug up and damaged when the water feature work was done, small pink aliums, salvia, and some eryngiums which Gavin thinks looks like a weed! As our garden is only 3 years old there is always room for new plants. He was rewarded by an afternoon of golf with a colleague at a wonderful course in Kent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.