Allotment at last!

I’ve had a super exciting day. Up early with Jon and out just before 8. We drove to a garage in Scole near Diss to view and test drive a mini. Having spent far too much of my time over the last 6 months, scouring the internet for a mini to replace my Yaris, I feel like I know all there is to know about them. I just haven’t been able to find one in the price range and age etc, within a reasonable distance. However, I found this one on Thursday which had only just come in to the garage which fitted all the criteria, and we booked to go and see it today. After almost 2 hours of looking, chatting and a test drive, I left a deposit and will pick it up next Saturday. Always feel anxious when I spend a lot of money, but am excited so I know it was the right thing!

We got back home at lunchtime and after lunch Jon and Daniel started to lay the patio, while Mollie and I went to the allotment to do some weeding, planting and harvesting. Mollie picked loads of raspberries, and I dug up the shallots (as instructed by Monty Don on last night’s Gardener’s World). We both weeded and I planted the purple sprouting broccoli, then covered with the netting. Plus I put in some of my leeks. The courgettes are doing well ( as you can see in this photo) and so are my many french and runner bean plants. I still need to cut the grass and weed the beds where the shallots were, and then think I will plant my remaining leeks and broccoli.

The water funnel Henry built with the plastic from the mattress has not worked, so we need to rethink it before the next downpour!

Home and had a Morrison’s curry while watching the film Eurovision with Will Ferrell. It was funny. Have planned to watch Dr No later. Can’t beat an evening with Sean Connery!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.