We Own It

Today is the 72nd birthday of the National Health Service. We have been asked to make and decorate a cake for the NHS to mark the date and thank everyone who has worked throughout the pandemic to try to keep us safe and well.

After yesterday's cake bonanza there's no way I can justify making another. Here's my tribute. A favourite baking tin with some of the ingredients of a cake. For decoration we have the remaining bits of a genuine Fisher Price 1980s Doctor's Kit which I saved for the next generation to play with.

Thank you all key workers and happy birthday to the wonderful NHS. We Own It, or we should. Let's not sell it off to the highest bidder.

We really enjoyed afternoon tea yesterday though there was some drama. Firstly Flora took a cake off one of the plates. She's really not a food thief so I don't know what got into her. Of course it was a chocolate cake - dangerous for dogs. I had a prolonged conversation with the emergency vet which involved weighing other bits of cake and so on. In the end we decided on the 'watchful eye' approach. The alternative was driving to Falkirk so that an emetic could be given to her at the clinic. We made the right call thank goodness though she has been up since 04:00am no doubt overloaded with sugar.  She's fine and the amount of chocolate was tiny.

Then the handle of the green teapot you can see in yesterday's blip (bought in Peebles decades ago)  broke off as Cameraman was pouring a cup of tea. There was tea everywhere but we kept the food dry. So not as relaxing as it might have been but the food was lovely and the ancient china had an outing.

By way of relaxation we watched TV - a year on the Pembrokeshire coast which I enjoyed except for the speeded up filming. Very irritating I found. And I wish some of the spectacular beaches had been named. St David's of course I recognised and also Tenby and Solva. I do love it there.

Today we have wet and windy weather. What's up with July? I can see some garden plants have been bashed down and I'll be anxiously awaiting a sunny interval so I can get out to do some repair work.

Wishing everyone an enjoyable and healthy Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.