kettwigefrau

By kettwigefrau

Not again.

They say the English are obsessed with the weather, but so are the Germans, believe me.

Out walking the dog, and after they've quit telling me how impossible it is for my golden retriever to be a golden retriever (too big, wrong colour, not dog shaped enough or something along those lines) the small talk will turn to the weather. If it's raining then they will complain that it's English weather (hohoho, like I haven't heard that before) if it's sunny and dry then clearly it's German weather...Since the last lot of snow disappeared all the talk has been that we've seen the last of it and spring is on its way...Now I'm not a negative person, my glass is usually half full (actually, that's a blatant lie, my glass is usually empty, 'cos I'll have necked it as quickly as I can and am probably back at the bar trying to catch Leslie's eye) but I never say goodbye to the possibility of snow before Easter, not for nothing is the reminder for winter tyres here 'O to O' (where O is October and O is Ostern = Easter)

I was in the gym this morning (get me, two mornings running, earning my cake and wine here) when there was a very odd noise through the ventilation, look out through the windows - a veritable white out, lovely, especially as I still had to take the dog out.

It didn't last long, but was just enough for the weather gods to remind us who's in charge!

In other news, no. 1 son came home in a stinking mood, having been declared a Schwarzfahrer (literally 'black driver', actually - fare dodger) he did have a ticket but had had to run for the train and not managed to get it validated by self stamping at some machine. I don't understand why he's so hacked off about it, afterall I've said that I'll pay it (?40 - extortion, especially when you consider that a speeding fine can be as little as ?30, trust me on that, I've had a few...). Of course the problem is going to be persuading him to get back on the train system tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.