The Little People (not me)

With some cafés and restaurants opening up, it seemed that parts of the city had some semblance of normality. The traffic was heavier- no longer is it possible to stand in the middle of the Mound and take a photo, and the buses fuller. I was on one this morning bemasked, uncomfortable and having to sit beside someone because it was so busy.

This blip was taken as I returned from a fruit foraging outing to Marchmont. Finally someone has come up with an idea of how to mask a brutal amputation of a tree in the play ground of the local primary school. The pupils may be on holiday but who knows how many ‘little people’ live behind these tiny windows.

What made my day apart from the kind donation of allotment strawberries from a friend, was being hailed by two waiters from Söderberg Pavilion and my life before lockdown. It seems that the café opened today on restricted hours. Its bigger brother nearby has been selling take away coffees for a few weeks but it too has put up its outdoor seating. Baby steps on the way to the new normality.

My question for today is :- how easy is it going to pay with my new phone which has face recognition when I will be compelled to wear a face mask in shops as from Friday? Tricky!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.