Awfy, awfy Cheery!

It’s July, it’s meant to be summer, yet when I set off on 13 miles of pothole avoidance on 2 wheels at 6am this morning it was officially feeling like 9° with a fresh NW wind.
Later when I walked out to get some essential supplies ( marshmallow minis and liquorice comfits if you must know) it was feeling like 10°. It has improved over the day to 15° but I’m still wearing winter woollies although there are people lounging on the Meadows. Either it is old age that has made me feel cold most of this year or my thyroid is playing up OR worst scenario, I’m not doing enough physical labour in the house. Maybe it’s too much sitting drinking coffee, newspaper reading, and knitting and not enough dusting and general cleaning.

What cheered me up out of all proportions this afternoon was seeing Söderberg Pavilion with it’s pizza oven lit, the doors open for outdoor service, and the same familiar faces of the waitresses on duty. Albeit the hours this week are not the hours I drink coffee , things will change after the 15th when the opening times will be more to my liking and there is even the chance I might get a table to sit at inside.

In the general dreariness of the Tollcross area this front garden was a riot of colour and the clock actually showed the right time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.