In search of orchids

I've been attempting to sort out the chicory triffids in the jungle meadow today, following the high winds which took several of them out and flattened others.  Whilst I was at this task, I spotted some new wildflowers coming through:  birds foot trefoil; wild basil; common mallow and loosestrife.  I took out the sorrel which had gone over to create some light in to the meadow.  When the sun came out I blipped bees, hoverflies and a tortoiseshell butterfly enjoying the flowers, great to see.

Mid afternoon, Tony and I took a walk in the welcome sunshine around the moor in search of the orchids.  Tony spotted one and once you 'got your eye in', there were whole clusters of them.  They are probably just past their best, but still lovely to see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.