MY WALLY DUG

Staffordshire dog figurines are matching pairs of pottery spaniel dogs standing guard which were habitually placed on mantelpieces in 19th-century homes. They are also known as hearth spaniels or fireplace dogs as they were positioned on top of the mantelpiece.  In Scotland they were colloquially termed Wally dugs. The spaniels were seated in pairs, decorated with a gold chain and locket, and with a creamy white base coat. The Staffordshire spaniel was the quintessential Victorian bourgeois status-symbol ornament: no mantelpiece was complete without a pair of spaniels standing guard. Nowadays they are collectors items.  My Wally Dug is unfortunately not part of a pair - he sits alone on the mantelpiece.  So I thought he would be a good subject for the Mono Monday challenge - today the theme is " Alone".  Thanks to  60plus for hosting'

Musical link - ONE by Harry Nilsson

I had set my alarm for 9am as I wanted to get on my computer early-ish to sort out an online supermarket shop.  However the doorbell rang just after 8am,  It was a guy who had come to mend my conservatory roof. Except he was at the wrong house. I had not asked him to call --- I don't even have a conservatory.  Went back to bed till alarm went off.  Did online order.  Back to bed again.  Slept till around 1.30pm.

Walked down to the village this afternoon.  Tesco and Herons.  Both very quiet.

When I got home I decided to go through the screen shots on my phone.  to find all the recipes. Whenever I see an interesting recipe online I tend to take a screen shot. I found lots of recipes on my phone and wrote some of them out in a notebook. ( Some I just didn't fancy any more ) Whilst I did this I watched an old film on TV .....The Titfield Thunderbolt.  Its one of the Ealing comedies and dates from 1953. Great fun.  Stanley Holloway was on good form.

Steps today - 8,661 ( 3.38 miles )

My Corona Classic is a tribute to Ennio Morricone who died today ( 60plus had the same idea;   Ennio Morricone - "Chi Mai"

Because of its appearance on the T V series The Life and Times Of Lloyd George "Chi Mai" reached number 2 in the UK singles chart in 1981

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.