Grafting

Went down with T to work on P's garden. Mainly finishing off the jobs T had been doing a couple of weeks ago, but also weeding all the newly discovered flower beds that had sprouted a good crop of weed seedlings since they'd first cleared them out. I weeded whilst T painted remaining bits of fence, filled huge sacks with old paint cans and broken plant pots and miscellaneous rubbish from behind the shed and down the side of the house. It was mainly fairly cloudy all day, threatening but not delivering rain, but warm.
When we nipped to the DIY shop I suggested a take out coffee but not only was the queue incredibly slow but once we'd got it I then proceeded to dramatically drop most of it all over my lap, so I had to walk round the supermarket looking like I'd wet myself. Sigh!
Given that P had been complaining that nothing had been done for the last 2 weeks whilst T's been at work and off furlough, saying he'd had to struggle to cut the hedge himself,  I was in no mood to cope with his complaining when I saw he hadn't watered the hanging baskets T had filled for him. Why hadn't he just focussed on keeping his new plants alive instead of cutting a hedge that he's ignored for months? Managed to keep focussed on the weeding and not get caught up in discussing it though and by the end he was much chirpier and pleased with all we'd done. 
We picked up some ingredients on the way home and T made a delicious jerk chicken dinner with home made flatbreads, coleslaw and mango ketchup and we ate in their lovely flower filled garden. I was disappointed to see that after the hours of heavy spade and hoe work, humping stuff to the tip and carrying food shopping my watch had logged only 14 minutes of exercise! Must do better :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.