Motorised transport must take precedence

In order to get to the supermarket, I already have to take a detour onto the roads, because the Council, in their wisdom, has closed one of the most well used cycle/walking paths in North Edinburgh for the duration of the summer, for bridge works. Part of that detour involves popping back onto the paths here, just by the Warriston Cemetery. Imagine my pleasure, as I came down the road the other side of this van, and tried to figure out how I was supposed to get past it onto the path. What's not obvious from this picture is that on neither side of the van was it possible to get between it and the cars that were legally parked. I had to head further down the hill, bump the bike up the curb, and come back again. Thanks, Mr or Ms Van Man. If I get a puncture in the next few days, I'll remember you.

Anyway, not much has happened today, so I can just have my little rant. However, the thinking about a big project I did yesterday has started to bear fruit. As we discussed it over dinner, Mr A suggested that I should go back into the writing lockdown, as I did last summer. Well, maybe not that extreme, but something like it. I will therefore be saying lots of "nos" to other requests.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.