The Doldrums

If I had a pencil and paper I would chewing the former wondering what on earth to say about a day that has slid past without anything much happening.
Pre-breakfast exercise was given a miss after a bad night’s sleep but I walked across town later to buy some wool, finding some main streets eerily quiet. I think some roads may be shut for maintenance- possibly the Mound as
George IV Bridge was empty of traffic. The High Street was devoid of everything, traffic and pedestrians making it feel strange to have the ability to stop and look without the fear of bumping into case draggers. I suppose with tourist accommodation beginning to open this weekend, the peace won’t last long.

I was a participant in a zoom call at lunch time and I felt inhibited in the conversation which always seems somewhat stilted because of the time delay. Still, these calls serve a purpose and they are better than nothing.

The afternoon turned out warm, and sitting outside with my book I nodded off only to be hailed from afar by a neighbour on the wrong side of the railings. Had that not happened, my 40winks might have been extended.

My book is ‘Lady in Waiting’ by Anne Glenconner who was married to Colin Tennant, the friend of Princess Margaret. I have seen Lady Glenconner interviewed on TV and she is a remarkable Lady of nearly 90 with a wealth of incredible stories, but my goodness, how the other half live and the endless coffers of money they have at their disposal is mind blowing and really outrageous. But it makes good light reading in the sun.

My blip is an illustration of the vagaries of opposing sides of the High Street

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.