Fieldfare Patterns


This unfortunate fieldfare (Turdus pilaris) flew into our window and died. It's not a window where this happens a lot but there are many young birds around at the moment and mistakes happen.
For a long time I went around calling the fieldfair a thrush. This isn't entirely wrong as it is a member of the thrush family but not the one I'm used to seeing in British gardens, the song thrush. Eventually I realised my mistake. This bird species can be seen in the UK, usually in winter. They migrate to Britain to escape the northern winter, returning to mid-Sweden in April or May. I know some viewers are a little uncomfortable around dead things so I concentrated on the abstract patterns on the bird's chest, which I find rather beautiful.  The extra picture shows the whole dead bird.
When a dead bird is the most exciting thing in the day you can see life is a little routine just now. The cold and very changeable weather doesn't help. We gardened a little, between showers, and I set some sourdough going that will be baked tomorrow.
I posted two pictures today. The first was a backblip from Tuesday. This is a backblip from Wednesday, so in real life that bread is baked and is very tasty! Maybe tomorrow I'll catch up to reality.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.