Interaction

I keep returning to photograph hostas because the shapes of their leaves allow for many different arrangements. And, although ostensibly all leaves look similar, there is infinite variety in their patterns and textures. In this case two adjacent plants overlap creating an interlocking composition. Strangely, under subtle evening light the leaves appear as if made out of fabric.

I listened to a podcast recently about taking photos of an idealised world, framed to look pretty, in which the presenter argued for including discarded rubbish. I thought about this as I began to clone out distracting spots and holes in the leaves, convincing myself I was making a piece of art and the blemishes would prevent my carefully arranged design from being seen.

After last night's storm which gave us some welcome rain, today's heat was oppressive and I didn't venture too far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.