The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Gin and sunflowers

Day two of this strange week. Are we still in lockdown? The delays on certain services continue, but I'm getting very busy.

First, an email. The free course I'd booked on ("interview success) had changed its time. That's not a problem for me this week, but it will be next week. Then the OT from Dave's hospital rang. D. had asked her to ring me, so that I could order a bed for him, for his return. Hmm Maybe.

I rang D. He basically asked me to get one from the Sally Army. I told him the charity shops weren't delivering, or in some cases aren't open, yet. After the online course, I went to town. Got a very good deal on a new bed, that can be delivered next Monday, by an independent bed store. Yay! Rang Dave from the bed shop. He was more concerned about how I was going to get his key (to let the bed in, so to speak) and what I would do with his cheque. I told him my building branch is still closed, now for the fifth consecutive month.

Bought some bedding, too. Received a text from a friend and on impulse I asked her to meet me. She bought me a 'Ruby hot chocolate' from Costa. Reader, Just Say No! It's basically strawberry Nesquik in a glass. I'm 56, not 6. I was not impressed. £3 - something for that? I shall notes be darkening Costa's doors for a while, even if I can sit down there now.

We discussed my sudden promotion to being Dave's carer. Unfortunately, it clashes with my needing to be back at work for the end of term meetings. I'm feeling like a skiver, because I'll have to miss some of those meetings. But Dave won't be allowed home by OT until he has got his bed installed. Delivery in six days' time looks good to me.

I may have mentioned gin at some point in our conversation. And chocolate. Friend A gave me a lift home, and I lay down on our (ancient) bed and watched TV with Steve. A knock on the door had me cursing, but when I went downstairs, I found gin and tonic left on my doorstep by A! Bless her, she is almost as skint as I am, but she'd gone to Aldi to buy them for me. Later, another friend brought me redcurrants from his allotment. And a postcard from his partner. We only live five minutes from each other, but we've been sending each other postcards from past holidays/trips during lockdown. So far I've been to Corfu in the noughties, Ballachulish in the 1960s, and Fingal's Cave. She has been to the Picos de Europa.

The week ahead is feeling very busy. Almost like pre-lockdown.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.